Dig-your-heels-in Stubborn

I am a very stubborn person. Dig-your-heels-in stubborn. I know this about myself and just don’t understand why my family and friends (and doctor) don’t realize it as well. If they would leave me alone about whatever it is they are trying to convince me to change, I would eventually reach the same conclusion all by myself. Maybe. Probably. Most of the time.

Prime example – I KNOW I need to lose weight. All I have to do is look in the mirror. However, until I am ready to make that lifestyle change, which is all a diet is, I am not only going to nod my head at and then ignore anyone who mentions the word “diet”, but I am also going to, more than likely, go eat something. Even if that someone is ME!!

The more often I am told that something needs to change, even when it is for my own good, the more I am going to dig my heels in and do the opposite. I must reach the same conclusion in my own roundabout way. So, even though the mirror and my head are telling me that it is time … once again … for the thousandth time … to make that lifestyle change, my heart is not quite ready yet. Or it may be ready and just hasn’t decided to let me know yet.

I do have a couple of incentives. I am planning a trip to Nova Scotia with my friend Linda for later this year and a trip to Scotland sometime during 2016. Both of those will require considerable walking and unless I lose some weight my back is not going to be happy in the least. So, my head understands the need for a lifestyle change.

Now I just need to get my heart engaged.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Tanya
    Feb 19, 2015 @ 17:41:30

    I enjoyed this. I have a problem with people telling me what I should be doing.

    Like

    Reply

  2. Jeannie Lott Lovell
    Feb 19, 2015 @ 18:09:48

    Enjoyed this post. I too, don’t like to be told what to do. I think your upcoming vacations will give you the incentive you need. You will know when it is time to make an eating lifestyle change,.

    Like

    Reply

  3. Kerin L.
    Feb 19, 2015 @ 21:40:41

    So true. I am the same way. It has to seem that it is MY idea! And after that realization hits, I am gung ho! Baby steps. At least you have warm weather you can walk in! It is beyond BRRRRR here!!

    Like

    Reply

  4. Paula J Clouse
    Feb 20, 2015 @ 06:01:03

    Loved it! Sounds just like me! Until I make up my mind it’s not going to happen. Even though I know it’s good for me!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  5. Judy
    Feb 24, 2015 @ 18:41:52

    I hear you!!! I think I’m even more stubborn than you. You hang in there! I know exactly where your coming from. Hell…when mom told me I couldn’t get married I told her to stand back and watch. LOL! !

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

