Sharing Me

A few minutes ago I reblogged a post by Cristian Mihai (http://cristianmihai.net) titled Five Painters. The last paragraph of that post caught my attention. Here is that paragraph as written by Cristian …

Let me tell you a secret. I’m not a really good writer, and I’m okay with that. What I do have is this ability to dissect my emotions and feelings, and write about my deepest secrets, about what terrifies me, about what I hate. I write about all that, and people either love it or hate it.

The thing that Cristian says about his ability to break down his emotions and feelings, and writing about them, is what caught my eye. Interestingly, I received an offer for a free listen on CreativeLive.com to a presentation called Becoming a Working Artist by Lisa Congdon. I am listening to it as I write this. Both of these brought to the forefront for me that I am not accomplishing with this blog, yet at least, what I set out to do. And that is sharing myself.

Unlike Cristian, I am not at all comfortable sharing myself. I mean, aren’t “secrets” meant to be kept private? Not that I intended to share my secrets on my blog. But there are lots of things going on in my life that are not secret. Those are the ones that I would like to share. I need to figure out how to become relaxed about sharing me. I mean, how hard can it be to write about my vacations?!

How does the CreativeLive presentation fit in? Why did it catch my ear (I’m listening to it, remember 🙂 )? Because some of the things being discussed are personal branding, being authentic, keeping up with blogging, finding the time, feeling comfortable sharing, and on and on. It is interesting to me to hear that others, who are successful as artists, are struggling to open up about themselves as much as I am.

When I was in Tucson last week, the friend that I met there started talking about the art shows that he and I are going to do in the future. First of all, I was taken back that this was his plan because he had not shared it with me!! And second, it made me panic big time because I have not set up my own business and so I don’t have a brand yet, I don’t work on my jewelry every day because of the other things I have going on such as working with my friend Akinyi’s books. So, building myself is something that I need to start doing.

I need to learn how to be comfortable with myself. Is that the thing that is missing? It’s not that I am not comfortable with sharing myself with others. I am not comfortable sharing myself with myself. Hmmm, something to think about today.

Featured image

(Screen shot from the CreativeLive presentation Becoming a Working Artist; Illustration by Lisa Congdon)

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Paula J Clouse
    Feb 12, 2015 @ 09:31:02

    I had to struggle with that also. Then I realized that what I wanted was to make my world like a small town. If I took a trip then came home I’d want to tell my hometown friends about the trip. If I’m making a new bracelet I want to show it off to my friends and neighbors first. But first I had to build my hometown. I had to let my personality and quirkiness show. I had to let everyone see my ups and downs. They need to know what drives me and what knocks me down. AlsobI talk too much!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Leave a Reply

