Put it down and walk away

Have you ever sat down to work on something and five minutes into it just know that it is not going to go well?

Yep, that happened to me a few minutes ago. I started working on a beading project … another version of a pattern that I have made a few times … a no-brainer, can-do-it-in-my-sleep pattern. And it is just not going together. I had knots in the “doesn’t knot” thread. I had a visit from a cat who walked right through the middle of the bead mat. I miscounted the beads for an entire row, which then had to be taken out and done over. So, I am admitting defeat for the time being.

This happened to me once before in a glass class at Helios in Austin. I was trying to break glass along a straight line. Now I am not all that good cutting circles, but usually have no problems with straight lines. But that one day I could not do it to save my life – those breaks were going every which way but straight. After about the fifth bad break, with my initial piece of glass getting smaller and smaller, Paul told me to just walk away. So, I did and when I went back to it later the cutter and breakers and my hand were all in sync, and the breaks worked beautifully.

Hope the same will be true for this beading project.

Featured image

Leave a Reply

