Birthdays

Birthdays are great! Anyone who knows me knows how much I love my birthday. When I was working, I made it a point to not work on my birthday – as far as I’m concerned, my birthday is the same as a federal holiday!

I was born in Texas on June 19 also known as Juneteenth. To those who don’t remember their US Civil War history, June 19, 1865 was the day that news of the Emancipation Proclamation and the end of the war reached Texas (http://www.juneteenth.com/history.htm). There are regularly parties going on on my birthday Not necessarily for me of course, but Juneteenth festivities are always taking place on June 19.

Being born on Juneteenth is not the only reason I love my birthday. Celebrating a birthday means turning the page to a new year. It means looking forward to what is next. Celebrating a birthday means you are celebrating yourself. Everyone should celebrate the self. You should do it every day – pat yourself on the back, tell yourself what a good job you do, cheer for yourself, take yourself to dinner or call some friends and set up a party. Make yourself a priority to you.

Learn to celebrate you – starting with your birthday! It’s the best!

Leave a Reply

